Turn It Up: On Paradoxes; My Debut Solo Exhibition

Dreams do come true!

It is with great pleasure and excitement that we introduce you to Jide Odukoya’s Debut Solo Exhibition in London titled ‘Turn It Up: On Paradoxes’
We have been doing a lot of brainstorming and reflection, and we are immensely grateful to be sharing this beautifully personal project with you. Since 2013, after shooting a few weddings, Jide Odukoya discovered weddings have a peculiar culture and vibe, and he wanted to create a project that magnifies these various aspects as one entity in a unique way.

Jide knew that factors such as flexibility and time with commissioned jobs would not afford him the opportunity to bring to life what he had envisioned for this project.
Even though he started out with street photography and gradually, with the help of social media, evolved into wedding photography, Jide found a common theme with both areas of photography: storytelling. This helped him adapt to his “new” area of expertise and became the foundation on which JOP Studios’ photography culture is built.

Weddings are full of buoyancy, grandeur, triumph, and pride of our culture and who we are as a people with so many colours. It’s more like a victorious ride amongst respective families. Weddings mean more than a party to us! It is how we make a life-long statement of self-fulfilment, love and care for others. It is the contagious spirit of celebration we love so much and of which we have explored several facets for over 5 years.
Therefore, it is with utmost pride and joy that we formally introduce Jide Odukoya’s debut solo international exhibition titled, “Turn It Up: On Paradoxes.” It opens on 6th July, 2019 at The World Gallery, Horniman Museum and Gardens London, 100 London Rd, Forest Hill, London SE23 3PQ, UK.
We hereby express our heartfelt gratitude to God for the leading, strength, blessing of amazing supporters, provision and grace to actualize this dream. To Him be all the Glory!
Jide Odukoya would also love to use this medium to express his gratitude to his amazing friends, colleagues and family that were instrumental to the success of this project. We practically staged a full wedding with models, artists and real vendors in the industry at the Balmoral Hall, Federal Palace on Victoria Island, Lagos.
Without you, this dream would never have come true.

To our Production Team:
Project Manager: Arinola @arin_nolablack
Event/Floor/Vendor Coordinator: Cordilia of ZaphaireEvents
Director: @fabunmioluwaseyi
Floor Coordinator: Immortal and Rosemary
BTS Video team: @ainavine and team
BTS Photo team: @laminarstudios and @veropstudios and the entire JOPStudios Team you guys are nothing but amazing!
We also received immense support and collaboration of the following seasoned wedding vendors listed below, to whom we are grateful for the successful production of this body of work:
Hall: Balmoral Hall @balmoralHall
WedExpo Team: @wedexpo
Planner: Zapphaire Events @zapphaireevents
All Effects and Stage Screens: Innovate Media @innovatemedia
Decor: Events by Claud @eventsbyclaud
Luxury Drinks: Ice Box @icebox
Traditional Outfit for Bride and Groom: Bimms AsoOke @bimmms24
Grooms Dad Outfit: @kinghackbal
Wedding Gown: April By Kunbi @aprilbykunbi
Cake: Helado Delicia @heladodelicia
Sweet Cravings: @sweetcravings
Traditional Setup: @ofadaboy
Luxury Food: Tash Bistro @tashbistro
Grills: Grind Grill @Grindgrill
Stylist: Twelve19 Styles @twelve19styles and @collins
Cocktails: De Royale Cocktails @deroyalcocktails
SmallChops: Finger Treats @fingertreats
Security: Big Sunny Security
DJ: DJ Skillz @djskillz
MC: Tosin @theweddingmc
Hype: Hype Commissioner @hypecommissioner
DanceFloor: Eventecture @eventecture
Rentals: Oaken Events @oakenevents
Luxury Food: Neriah’s Homemade @nariahshomemade
Effective Media & Extras: @effectivemedia
Production: Parallel Media Studios @parallelmediastudios
Royal Arts Academy @royalarts
If you are London, make it a date with us at the Opening! See you there!